Video tour of the exhibition “Coexisting with Darkness”About Us

Video tour of the exhibition “Coexisting with Darkness”

Mystetskyi Arsenal presents a video tour of the exhibition “Coexisting with Darkness” with English subtitles.

The curators of the exhibition, Anton Usanov and Natasha Chychasova, as well as the architect of the exhibition, Ivan Svitlychnyi, talk about the concept of the project and its architectural composition and reveal the questions, the answers to which the exhibition participants were looking for.

Within the framework of the project “Coexisting with Darkness”, multimedia and audiovisual installations, performances, paintings, and other works of art by the following authors are presented: Tereza Barabash, Sergiy Petlyuk, Dasha Podoltseva and Alexey Shmurak, Anton Saienko, Ivan Svitlychnyi, Fedir Tetyanych, Maksym Khodak, Tereza Yakovyna, and Photinus studio.

The video tour of the exhibition will be useful to everyone who is interested in contemporary Ukrainian art or is just starting to get acquainted with the works of contemporary artists.

Coexisting with the darkness is something we all had to learn starting in October 2022 and ongoing for many months as Russia systematically shelled critical infrastructure in Ukraine, causing widespread blackouts and disruptions to water, heat, and communications.

The exhibition “Coexisting with Darkness” speaks of a future in which the lived experience of blackouts becomes a reference point for thinking about technology, solidarity, and mutual assistance. A future where futuristic dreams of an autonomous space for experiencing a disaster unconsciously resemble “Points of Invincibility”. About the efforts and care hidden behind the web of electrical communications, batteries, and generators.

The video tour will also remain available after the exhibition project is completed on March 31, 2024.

Video by Volodymyr Cheppel.

Curatorial text

The exhibition was created in partnership with Art Arsenal Community NGO as part of the project funded by aid from the governments of Canada, Finland, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom, and the United States.